A Space for Alternative Thinking........

The Constitution of Man


Man has seven principles, sometime referred to as bodies. These are


Atma – The piece of the divine in everybody

Buddhi – Our individual spiritual identity 

Manas – The Mind principle divided into higher – spiritual ideals and lower – concrete and rational thought. 

Atma, Buddhi and higher Manas form the immortal part of man. The four principles below are dumped at the end of your physical life and you get new ones for next time. 

Kama – The desire principle

Prana – The life energy principle 

Linga Sharira – The model body or template for your physical body 

Sthula Sharira – Physical body – we are all familiar with this one.



After Death States


This is in broadly 2 stages following a review at the point of death of the life just lived. These are

Kama Loka – where our earth life baggage and attributes are dissolved. 

And after another review 

Devachan – a state of bliss in which aspirations of the previous life are fulfilled.

Unfortunately you can’t stay there, you have to come back!



Involution means descending into matter and spirit has to do this to gain experience and evolve. As spiritual beings we have descended into matter by taking physical bodies. We rise out of these bodies when we discard them at the end of our current physical life.



Physical forms are the means by which the universal life force or spirit expresses itself and the more complex the form becomes, the greater the potential for the spirit to do find expression. Evolution to a Theosophist is therefore spiritually based and driven.


The Cyclic Nature of Evolution 

Theosophy postulates that evolution does not proceed in a linear manner but on a cyclic but ultimately upward spiral. This is true of everything including ourselves and our planet.


Kingdoms of Nature


There are 10 kingdoms of nature each occupying a rung on the evolutionary ladder. From the top these are

The 3 Dhyani-Chohanic Kingdoms

Dhyani-Chohans (Sanskrit-Tibetan) The Lords of Meditation. There are 3 types with several sub-divisions and they function in a hierarchy. In Christianity they appear as Archangels. They supervise the cosmos and they operate on higher planes than our physical plane.


The Human Kingdom 

Theosophy makes a clear distinction between the Human and Animal kingdoms. Humans have acquired a level of consciousness and self-awareness that gives them a level of self-determination in both their own personal evolution and that of Humanity as a whole.


The Animal Kingdom 

Plant or Vegetable Kingdom 

The Mineral Kingdom

The Mineral is the lowest of the visible kingdoms on the evolutionary scale. 

The 3 Elemental Kingdoms 

There are 3 classes of Elemental at different levels of consciousness with innumerable divisions within those classes. They cannot normally be seen. Elementals work behind the scenes and they directly affect what goes on in the world.


Life of the Universe

In line with the principle of activity and rest, the universe will exist for a given period called a Manvantar and then go into obscuration or rest called a Pralaya. The universe will then return to manifestation.

The terms Manvantara and Pralaya are also used in relation to stars and planets.


Creation of the Universe

The universe effectively wakes up from obscuration with the latent spirit exerting its influence on matter.

To get things moving spirit expresses itself in 3 aspects. This is called in Theosophy The Triple Logos.

The aspects are;

First Logos – Will  

Second Logos – Capacity 

Third Logos – Activity


Beginning with the Third Logos there are three outpourings in which spirit gives form to matter and consequently creates a viable universe;


1st Outpouring – 3rd Logos – Activity. creates the seven planes of nature.

2nd Outpouring – 2nd Logos – Capacity. Builds form from the now newly created planes of nature.

 3rd Outpouring – 1st Logos – Will.  This takes place at the point in which the Human Kingdom* is created, providing it with self-conscious awareness.


*This is the Human Kingdom which exists from the start of the universe and not the Human Race as we know it now.


The universe now exists and will run its course